The Dawn Of The Foodies Voyage

Well, to be perfectly honest, I have no real idea on how to start and put my first sentence on this blog, so I may as well say that this blog is going to contain me blabbing on (hopefully with a purpose and interest level, cross my fingers) experimenting with food and ingredients and sharing with you the successes, the massive fails and recipes that I have come across that are simply to amazing for just some of us to know about. What is the reason for this foolishness you may ask?? Well, purely to share my ‘voyage’ of discovering new flavours, ingredients, cultural food and in general broadening my knowledge of the food world, also to talk (type) the language of food with my fellow foodies and share the love and fun that comes with conjuring up ingredients to make a (hopefully) mouth watering dish, and how to go about creating these meals, with of course the help of the ever so handy recipes.
P.S. Sorry in advance for the terrible grammatical and wording errors, auto correct and I will be working hard to avoid such blunders.

I thought it only fitting for my first ever blog entry to have a recipe about something that I am forever crazy about. Yes, I am NUTS about NUTS. I just can’t seem to get enough of DA NUTS. Wether rain, hail or shine, night or day, summer, spring, autumn or winter, salads or desserts, (I think you got the picture) NUTS is a prime subject. So as you may find over the time of this blog, NUTS are going to appear (so sorry if you’re allergic, I will definitely have nut free experiments and recipes up as well).

So, enough blabbing and dilly-dallying from me, it’s to ‘crack’ into the first nut recipe (get the pun?)

I first tasted these at the Eumundi Market (about an hours drive from Noosa) and haven’t been able to stop raving about them and thought – “I think it’s time I made those bad boys for myself”.
So without further ado, I proudly present……

CINNAMON AND SUGAR COATED NUTS

(already excited?)

Ingredients:
2 eggwhites
1/3 cup caster sugar
1 cup brown sugar
1 tablespoon ground cinnamon
5 cups of nuts

Method:
1. Preheat oven to 160C. Line baking tray with baking paper
2. With an electric mixer, beat egg whites until frothy with large air bubbles.
3. Add caster sugar gradually beating thoroughly after each addition
4. Stir in brown sugar and cinnamon into eggwhites
5. Stir in nuts until all are well coated
6. Spread onto baking tray and bake for 35 minutes and stir every 5-10 minutes or when the cinnamon crust looks dry
7. Remove and cool completely and store in an air tight container
Let me know what you think, and most of importantly enjoy!!
I find them incredibly nourish and very hard to stop eating once you’ve started.

Well I really hope you enjoy that recipe and stay tuned for more recipes and experiments!

P.S. Enjoy the thrill cooking brings, the taste the food creates and voyage meal takes you on

2 thoughts on “The Dawn Of The Foodies Voyage

  1. It is wonderful to go back to the beginnings and see how a blog began. You have accomplished so much and should be proud. This recipe is a great gift idea. Looks and sounds delish!!

    • aww thank-you very much! that’s so kind of you!!
      Your comments always make me smile! 🙂
      I’ve enjoyed the blog journey so much and getting to read other enjoyable blogs such as yours 🙂
      thank-you again for your lovely comment 🙂
      and have a very Merry Christmas 🙂

Leave a Reply

