Summer Delights: Choc-Coconut Ice-cream Sandwiches

Choc-coconut ice-cream sandwichesAs I can remember ever since I was little, on those roasting hot Summer Days, Mum would come home with special Summer Delights.
One of the most eagerly awaited was those addictive chocolate biscuit and vanilla ice-cream sandwiches. With ease we could clear box after box, happily nibbling (or devouring….) away at those simple Summer Delights out in the backyard.
So you can just imagine my excitement as I was flicking through those awesome free-bee magazines and I can across a homemade version which was then rolled in toasted coconut. I think I began to jump up and down and salivate. Simultaneously. If that’s possible…. And when the day came around (not hard to come by in Australia) when the weather was pushing high 30C (possibly up to the 40s), the time had come to whip up these most delicious and simply sublime Summer Delights!

The beautifully creamy ice-cream takes the edge off the rich chocolatiness whilst maintaining that delicous brownine like flavour, with the toasted coconut adding a pleasant crunch and subtle flavour. These are bound to go a treat no matter the occassion!

So without further ado…..

CHOC-COCONUT ICE-CREAM SANDWICHES

Coles, Australia, January 2013 Catalogue, Pg 30 or full recipe can be found here

Ingredients:
1½ cups plain flour
½ cup icing sugar
¹⁄3 cup cocoa powder
125g butter, chopped
2-3 tbsp milk
1 cup shredded coconut
8 large scoops vanilla ice-cream

Method:
1.Preheat oven to 180°C or 160°C fan. Line large baking trays with baking paper.
2. Combine flour, icing sugar and cocoa powder in a food processor. Add butter and pulse in short bursts until mixture resembles breadcrumbs. Add 2 tbsp milk and pulse until dough is evenly moistened and comes together in small clumps, adding a little more milk if necessary.  cocoa powder chocolate biscuit dough3. Turn out and gather dough into a ball. Divide dough in half and roll out one portion on a sheet of baking paper until 5mm thick. Cut 8 rounds using an 8cm cutter. Make the cuts close together, and if you don’t get all in the first cut, pile dough scraps together and gently roll out again. Repeat with the other portion of dough. cutting chocolate cookie dough chocolate cookie dough 4. Arrange rounds on baking trays and chill for 15 mins. Transfer to oven and cook for 12 mins. Swap trays between top and bottom shelves halfway through cooking. Leave biscuits on trays for 5 mins, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely. chocolate cookies5. Spread coconut in a large, dry frying pan over medium heat. Cook for 1 min, stirring occasionally, until golden. Transfer to a plate to cool. toasted coconut6. To assemble, place a scoop of ice-cream on a biscuit and place another on top. Gently press (from the centre, so the biscuit doesn’t crack) to flatten slightly and push ice-cream out towards the edges. Roll sides of sandwich in coconut, gently pressing on. (You may need to work quickly as the ice-cream melts). Place on a tray in freezer and repeat with remaining.chocolate cookies, toasted coconut, vanilla ice-creamchocolate cookie and ice-creamchoc-coconut and ice-cream sandwich 7. When the sandwiches are firm, cover with plastic wrap and store in an airtight container in the freezer until ready to serve. Take out a few minutes before serving, to soften slightly.
8. (The best bit) Enjoy!! 🙂
choc-coconut ice-cream sandwiches{Oozing with ice-creamy goodness}

I hope you enjoy these Summer Delights as much as well all do!
Thanks for stopping by and have a great rest of the week!

Don’t forget to check out Daisy and the Fox on Pinterest for blog updates as well as pictures that excite and inspire me!

Until next time amigos!

DAISY AND THE FOX

32 thoughts on “Summer Delights: Choc-Coconut Ice-cream Sandwiches

  1. I just came home from eating far too much birthday cake and thinking to myself “I am so full, nothing sweet will ever look good to me again.” Apparently I was wrong, lol.

  2. What I love about this .. is that there is no calories. I remember as a kid we could buy those sandwiches from the ice cream van. I’m addicted to ice cream and that last photo – is killing me .. have to have ice cream tonight .. a big bowl.

    • very true viveka! 🙂
      i know – ice-cream is so addictive!, it’s really a kitchen staple here at home!
      thank-you! 🙂 and enjoy your ice-cream tonight! 😀

    • thank-you!! 🙂 and yes do – let me know how you go! 😀
      what I found is you want a very thin biscuit (unless you like them thick) and a big scoop of ice-cream 😛

  3. Oh. My. God. I think I am jumping up and salivating too…..except for that I have to wait another 5 months to try these….It’s so cold here that I don’t know what to do with myself! Beautiful photos by the way!

    • thank-you!! 😀 that’s too bad! I bet the winter comfort food it great! 🙂
      and thank-you again for your lovely comment 🙂

  4. you have no idea how madly i am craving one of these beauties now! lol!
    i don’t even care that it’s winer but i still want those ice cream sandwiches ….hahhah

  5. Oh my…these ice cream sandwiches look divine. I can eat them all year long! I love the coconut flakes on the side. I’m sure that adds lots of flavor and texture to this yummy treat.

    • haha I’m with you there! 🙂 3 down and still go strong! 😀
      yeah – they can re-freeze – too bad! haha 😀

Leave a Reply

