Rustic Raspberry Brownies

Rustic Raspberry BrowniesCHOCOLATE.

What do you think when you see this magnificent substance?

-“The comfort food that will ALWAYS be there for you no matter what happens?” (Which is true through and through might I add!)

-“See? Are you kidding?! To late, it’s already gone! Done! Consumed! Probably down in my stomach by now”

-“Imaging yourself in Candy Land, Willy Wonka’s Factory! Drinking from the melted chocolate pond…. mmmmmmmmmm”

Well, for me, this brings back the days when I was a wee little lass and my sister, bro and I would eagerly watch mum scraping, to the very last little dribble of the chocolaty…. silky…. (we’re all drooling right?) brownie mixture into the baking tray, as we would all jump up and down and beg for her to leave us a nice puddle of brownie mixture for us to lick up, covering our faces with that beloved brownie mixture. Well I guess those puppy dog eyes really knew when to come out to play, as victory was ours! Before we became enemies of each other, quickly buzzing and winning the best prize of all…… Licking the spoon. That’s right. I went there. Although, not long before that indescribable chocolaty aroma filled the house, as we watched through the oven window as our sweet little friend was cooking away…

Rustic Raspberry Brownies

Ahhhhh, those were the days…

Well, with a little bit of spare time up my sleeve I was able to somewhat recreate those found memories by whipping up a batch of the world wide favourite. (This time with the spoon and bowl to myself – WIN!)

And this time with a little tasty twist…

With the beautifully moist centre and the crumbly exterior and that beloved chocolaty brownie flavor, which perfectly matches with the subtle flavour from the raspberry coulis

It’s time to get excited my friends!

Get your spoons, oven, bowls and chocolate at the ready!

RUSTIC RASPBERRY BROWNIES

Ingredients:

100g dark cooking chocolate
100g milk cooking chocolate
1 cup firmly packed brown sugar
1/2 cup vegetable oil
3 eggs, at room temperature
1 teaspoon vanilla essence
1/2 cup plain flour
1/4 cup cocoa powder
1/2 teaspoon baking powder
3/4 cup raspberry coulis

or to home-make the raspberry berry coulis:
250g raspberries (frozen or fresh – what ever it convenient!)
Juice of 1 lemon
1/2 cup of caster sugar

Method:

Raspberry Coulis:

1. Combine all the ingredients in a blender and blitz until the sugar crystals are no longer present (here you can dip your fingers in and rub them together to test)lemon and raspberries2. Push the coulis through a sieve to separate that beautifully silkiness from those seeds
and done!

3. Store in an airtight jar until needed!

Note: Raspberry Coulis is one winning topping for ice-cream – get excited

Rustic Raspberry Brownies:

1. Preheat the oven to 170C, and line an approximately 22cm square cake pan with baking paper
milk and dark chocolate

2. You can either melt the chocolate in a medium heatproof bowl over a saucepan of simmering water, stirring occasionally until smooth then remove the bowl from the saucepan and set aside.
OR do the cheats way (which yes I am guilty of, but why not when its so much quicker and easier? I am right?) by placing the chocolate in a heatproof bowl and melting in the microwave at 20 second intervals, stirring,  until nice and silky – be careful not to burn it though!

3. Combine the sugar, oil, eggs and vanilla essence in a medium mixing bowl and beat with electric beaters until well combined and paler in colour. Then add the melted chocolate and beat until combined

4. Sift the flour, cocoa, and baking powder together over the chocolate mixture and use a metal spoon to fold until combined.

5. Spoon the mixture into the prepared pan and smooth the surface. Then place tablespoons of the raspberry coulis around the top brownie batter then marble using a skewer.

brownie mixture6. Bake in the preheated oven for around 1 hour or until moist crumbs cling to the skewer inserted into the middle. Remove from the oven and set aside until cooled completely.rustic raspberry brownies
Now comes the fun! Turn onto a board a cut into generous slices – being sure to collect all the crumbs left behind!

And…..

ENJOY!!

rustic raspberry brownies
Thanks for stopping by and have a simply wonderful rest of the week! 🙂

DAISY AND THE FOX

60 thoughts on “Rustic Raspberry Brownies

  1. I love your brownies, my friend just sent me a recipe for chocolate cake with raspberry puree and I thought it sounded wonderful, so I already had chocolate and raspberry on my mind. I do the same thing, always mix milk and dark chocolate in my recipes. I am a shameless fan of milk chocolate and I am sure in the minority. I love your recipe! I have some frozen raspberries and I will be making these.

    • thank-you very much Suzanne! 🙂
      yep – mixing milk and dark just helps to keep it that little less rich 🙂 and i’m with you there in the minority! 🙂
      let me know how it goes and have a great week! 😀

  2. well in answer to the question
    What do you think when you see this magnificent substance?
    I start salivating…. 😉
    we don’t make chocolate brownies in Italy, so it’s a discovery I made when I came to the UK and I love them, yours look delish! 🙂

    • salivation – i totally get where your coming from 😛
      and what a joyous discovery that would’ve been!
      thank-you very much 🙂

    • thank-you very much! 😀
      it was so hard to resist popping one into the mouth when I was taking the photos 😛

  3. I love the trip back to your childhood. Sadly, my mom wasn’t the greatest cook or baker and my father was worse! lol. These look so yummy. Do you think they would work with blueberries? Blackberries?

    • Like a walk down memory lane! 🙂
      and thank-you berry much! (mind the pun 😛 )
      and most definitely! any of those berries! – and even a combo if you like! 🙂

    • thank-you very much Vini! 🙂
      most stages of this recipe involved finger licking goodness 😛
      always keep some brownie batter for yourself! 😛

    • thanks Uru! 🙂
      raspberries and chocolate are one of those favs that will continually keep popping up!
      the combo sings harmonies 🙂

  4. Oh my gosh, these sound heavenly! I love raspberry and dark chocolate is my fav, so I would do all dark 🙂 That would be fine right? I’m not much of a baker…lol!

    • thank-you suzie! 🙂 it is the best combo isn’t it! 😀
      all dark would be awesome – all up to you 🙂

  5. I love the raspberry – chocolate combination. I’m not a huge brownie fun. It’s just too much chocolate for my taste. I think that your recipe, with the fruity contrast created by the raspberry, is just the perfect balance.

    • its a winner isn’t it! 😀
      and far enough 🙂 and yeah the raspberry contrasts with the strong chocolaty flavour and the milk chocolate helps to dull it as well 🙂

  6. Wow, your brownies are amazing! This looks absolutely scrumptious! Raspberries and chocolate.., double yummy!!

    • thank-you!! 🙂
      the raspberries are a perfect match with the brownies – couldn’t seem to get enough! 😛

  7. Hello lovely Bec! This is a brilliant idea… I’ve made chocolate raspberry brownies but I’ve only ever added whole berries to the batter itself. The coulis would almost be like having a ‘sauce’ with the brownie itself – I can imagine eating one warm with vanilla icecream (a la mode!!). Yum yum. Definitely trying your recipe xx

    • thank-you very much lovely Laura! 😀
      you hit the nail on the head! it sure is! mmmm 🙂
      ahhhhhh yess – the only way to enjoy warm brownies is with some vanilla ice-cream – i think you and i would get on very well! haha
      thank-you again for your lovely comment!
      let me know how it goes 🙂 xx

    • thank-you very much Tina! 🙂 i was surprised at how well they turned out – are guaranteed to be made over and over again at home 😛

Leave a Reply

