Musings À La Mode: 90’s Grunge

“Yo, I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I’ll tell you what I want, what I really really want,
So tell me what you want, what you really really want,
I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna, I wanna really really really wanna zigazig ha.”

Yep. That’s right. I just shamelessly quoted (and sung along in my head) to the Spice Girls.

90's grunge fashion trend 2013

{ Dries Van Noten – www.fashionmagazine.com }

But why one earth would I begin a post singing along to one of the biggest 90’s hits?
The answer is oh so simple and oh so exciting!

You guessed it, 90’s Grunge is back with a vengeance (and the best vengeance i’ve ever heard of!)
This trend is now accentuated with plaids, evening rocking the plaid on plaid! (if you dare)
90's grunge fashion trend 2013

{ Celine – http://www.fashionmagazine.com }

We saw this style fluently grace the catwalk wearing Dries Van Noten’s designs. Perfectly depicting what it means to be grunge with a twist of class.
Also hopping on board was Chloé Comme Parris, in their Fall 2013 collection putting a edgy, gothic theme on the trend, focusing mainly on darker tones.

What I love about this style is the effortlessness.Chuck a plaid flannelette round your waist, paired with some ripped jeans and a loose tee and your good to go.

Let’s take a trip down memory lane, and rock the grunge like it’s 1999.

90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ Cara Delevingne – www.fashionmagazine.com }

90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ Chloé Comme Parris – www.fashionmagazine.com }

90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ http://www.shuttershock.com }
90's grunge fashion trend 2013

{ http://www.fashionmagazine.com }

90's grunge fashion trend 2013

{ Chloé Comme Parris – www.fashionmagazine.com }90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ http://www.fashionmagazine.com }90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ Dries Van Noten – www.fashionmagazine.com }

90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ http://www.fashionmagazine.com }
90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ http://www.fashionmagazine.com }90's grunge fashion trend 2013{ http://www.shuttershock.com }

Let’s have a soundtrack to get in da zonnne shall we??
What’s your favourite 90’s tune?

I’m thinking…

Ironic – Alanis Morissette
Barbie Girl – Aqua
U Cant Touch This – MC Hammer
Tubthumping – Chumbawamba
Iris – Goo Goo Dolls
Ice Ice Baby – Vanilla Ice
Black or White – Michael
Macarena – Los Del Rio
Wonderwall – Oasis
Mambo No. 5 – Lou Bega

Now let’s party hard… 90’s style

Thanks for stopping by!

DAISY AND THE FOX

16 thoughts on “Musings À La Mode: 90’s Grunge

  1. Mambo No. 5 – Lou Bega – one of my favorites …… but the fashion here I leave for the younger generation … done, my 90’s. *smile Great post by the way.

    • thanks viveka! 😀
      haha totally understand! 😛
      yes! it’s one of my favourites as well! i just want to bob along all the way to it! *plays song and begins to bob along*

    • thank-you Kenley! 😀
      even though i was only round for half of the 90’s there’s nothing like those classics – they will be loved for generations to come! i hope… 😛

    • thank-you! 🙂
      ahh yes, don’t cha love it! … the 90’s really pulled out all the goods! 😛

  2. I liked the songs Wonderwall… and Park Life springs to mind too… a lot of the Brit pop stuff. Oh and stuff by Nirvana, Sonic Youth, The Pixies, etc were all on my playlists back then too.
    That velvet dress! Yup- so 90’s! Had a similar one (that probably cost about 1/300th of the price of that one 😉 )

    • ahh yes Nirvana!! so many good songs!! 🙂
      i tell you – it was hard cutting down the playlist 😛

      haha so true! 🙂 i bet an opp shop would have all the goods to make our own grunge outfit for under $20!

  3. Wow… I don’t think I could pull off many of these looks but some of them are gorgeous! I used to love the Spice Girls. Ahem. Don’t tell anyone 😉
    Lovely post Becca! xx

    • they’re all so effortless – just love it! 😀
      haha your secrets safe with me 😛 a little jivin’ to the spice girls never killed no body 😛
      thank-you lovely! xx

  4. Pingback: Musings À La Mode: Before & After DIY Plaid Skirt | Daisy and the Fox

Leave a Reply

