Italy Photo Diary ~ The Amalfi Coast

Italian fruit marketTo say THE Italy trip was highly anticipated is an understatement. The day dreaming got me through countless hours of study (and avoiding study not to mention.. shhh). The idea of endless days (well, endless I wish!) wandering the streets surrounded by fascinating history and dont forget that food! (Hellllllllo pasta gut!)

the metaphorical doorway to Italy if I may

the metaphorical doorway to Italy if I may

The first step of our family trip began on non other than THE Amalfi Coast, staying in Sorrento. That’s right, the same one you’ve seen in the movies. I could almost see James Bond executing the perfect dive off the coastal cliff tops. Yep, pretty much jaw dropping views accompanied by me saying “WOW!” about every 5 seconds.

Christmas spirit in Sorrento

Christmas spirit in Sorrento

Hotel Palazzo Jannuzzi kickin' every goal, even with coffee

Hotel Palazzo Jannuzzi kickin’ every goal, even with coffee

magical Sorrento streets at night

magical Sorrento streets at night

My favourite 'Parmesan, Rocket & Tomato Pizza' by Pizzeria Di Franco in Sorrento. 2 words; go there.

My favourite ‘Parmesan, Rocket & Tomato Pizza’ by Pizzeria Di Franco in Sorrento. 2 words; go there.

Any tour to the south of Italy wouldon’t be complete without a tour of Pompeii. I found this historic site particularly fascinating (which was helped by my weird interest in volcanoes), but more in the way the civilisation living there was so advanced for their time. It is such a tragedy for both the lives lost as well as the loss of knowledge this town contained.

Pompeii ruins

Pompeii ruins

beautifully preserved mosaic floors in Pompeii

beautifully preserved mosaic floors in Pompeii

Pompeii ruins To be honest, pretty much all of Italy is as picturesque as earth is from space (well that’s a bit of an exaggeration but ya get what I mean). But one part that particularly made me want to take a mental picture every step I took was the stunning views along the Amalfi Coast, where along the way we briefly stopped at Positano, Amalfi, Ravello & and a mind blowing Grotto.

Jaw dropping right? ~ Positano

Jaw dropping right? ~ Positano

My love for Fiats has sky rocketed

My love for Fiats has sky rocketed

I have a new found obsession with photographing doors...

I have a new found obsession with photographing doors…

That stunning Grotto

That stunning Grotto

Nothin' like a quality pasta by the fire

Nothin’ like a quality pasta by the fire

ceramic galore along the Amalfi a.k.a heavveenn

ceramic galore along the Amalfi a.k.a heavveenn

Amalfi coast views

bruschetta fan in paradise

bruschetta fan in paradise

All photos were taken and edited by Bec {Daisy and the Fox}. If you wish to use them, please give credits back to the blog.

Oh and a very Happy New Year to you all!! All the best for 2014! May it be the best year yet 🙂

Stay tuned for a Rome photo travel diary and to keep updated with my travels don’t forget to follow Daisy and the Fox on Instagram (link in the right side panel)

Thanks for stopping by where ever you are in the world, and hope you are all having a fab week!

Daisy and the Fox

18 thoughts on “Italy Photo Diary ~ The Amalfi Coast

    • Haha you said it Maisa! 😛 I literally had this pizza pretty much everywhere there
      Pretty much us in a pizza I guess! 😛
      Thanks for stopping by 🙂

    • Such an amazing time! Wish we were staying longer! 😀
      Your friend will have the best time – it’s much quieter this time of the year, so you can enjoy the sights even more without massive crowds 🙂

    • 🙂 love the idea of that book!
      I just keep snapping those photos up! All the doors so original, just love it 😀 happy new year!

  1. Love your photos! Italy has such a special place in my heart – great people, food, and gorgeous scenery. I’m taking a trip to Mexico at the end of this month and hope to post a photo diary of sorts when I return! jackietara.wordpress.com

    • Thank-you very much!! 😀 you hit the nail on the head, such a beautiful place 🙂
      Oooo that’s so exciting! Hope you have lots of fun and can’t wait to see the photo diary 🙂

  2. Hi Daisy – found your blog on Pinterest. We are planning a 3 week trip to Italy in September so I was thrilled to find your blog. I am making notes from your blog of places I want to visit. Thank you for sharing.

    • ooo that’s so exciting! 😀
      which places in Italy are you going to?
      let me know if you have any questions 🙂
      happy planning!

Leave a Reply

