Will you be my Valentine ‘Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette’?

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette
Valentines Day.

This day can mean different things for differenct people.
For me?
Well, it’s just another day to be, quote, “allllll byyyy myyysee-eh-elfff”, and another excuse to smash my face into another smashing baked good (see what I did there?)

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette

When thinking of something to somewhat acknowledge this loved-up day, what first came to mind was… strawberries.
(I post so many berry based recipes here I could swear I was a berry in my previous life.)

strawberries
Strawberries & Cream. A classic and fool proof combo. Chuck in some beautifully crusty pastry, and some crunchy goodness of pistachios, and you’ve got yourself and Valentines Day dessert! (Minus the table set for two… I’m cool with ma TV… you know how it is).

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette
Red for love… ain’t that sweet! Plus a bit of green, so I guess this could be Christmasy too… to some extent… let’s just call it an alllll celebratory sweet treat ~ heck, I’d have this erreryday if I could!

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette
So here’s to the lovers, single laydays (can I get a ‘halllllllaaa?!’), and everyone else just lookin to enjoy some galette goodness. Galettes are such a wonderful creations I must say. Think sweet pie, minus all the fuss, plus a dash of a forgiving baking process. Recipe for success huh?

If anyone is looking for me this Friday, I’ll be chillin’ on the couch with my Valentine… The Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette.

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette
(pastry recipe from Martha Stewart)
Ingredients:
Pastry:
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour, plus more for rolling
1 cup (225g) cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
1 teaspoon sugar
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 cup ice water

Filling:
500g strawberries, hulled and sliced
1 tablespoon custard powder
1/4 cup raw sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla bean paste, or 1 vanilla bean pod
1 teaspoon lemon rind

Crust :
egg wash – 1 egg & 2 tablespoons milk
3 tablespoons raw sugar

Method:
1. In a food processor, combine flour, butter, sugar, and salt; pulse until mixture resembles coarse meal. Sprinkle with ice water. Pulse until dough is crumbly but holds together when squeezed (if necessary, add up to 1/4 cup remaining ice water, 1 tablespoon at a time). Dont overmix.
2. Remove dough from processor and shape into a disk; wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least 1 hour.
3. In the meantime, to make the strawberry mixture, combine the strawberries, custard powder, sugar, vanilla paste and lemon rind and stir to combine.
4. Once the dough has rested, bring it to room temperature and role out on a lightly floured surface until 1/4 inch thick, transfer to a baking tray lined with baking paper. With a spatula, place the  strawberry mixture onto the dough.
5. Fold the edge of the dough over the strawberries, and brush the pastry with the egg wash, and then sprinkle the raw sugar on top, for a lovely extra crunch.

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette
Tuck in my friends!

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette

Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette

empty plate
Happy Valentines Day to everyone out there!

Thanks for stopping by!

daisy and the fox

22 thoughts on “Will you be my Valentine ‘Rustic Strawberry & Pistachio Galette’?

  1. Oh my, those pictures! I am so craving some strawberries right now… It looks really delicious!
    I’ve decided to just ignore Valentine’s Day this year! I didn’t even think of it until I saw some Valentine’s Day inspired recipes on my WordPress Reader last week, haha.

    • Thank-you very much lovely 🙂
      I agree! for me, this galette is a mere distraction, a very happy, Yuumy distraction 😛
      Hope you have a lovely week!

  2. LOL I love that song! I will be singing it too on V-day, but digging into a big tub of ice cream… unless you want to send over that gorgeous rustic strawberry galette 😀

    Cheers
    Choc Chip Uru

  3. I love a good galette, and yours looks divine! The combination of pistachios and strawberries looks wonderful and I bet it tastes great too. Also – your former life as a berry, I literally lold, you’re too sweet!

    • Thank-you very much Gab! 🙂
      It was all literally gone within an afternoon haha 😛
      Lol berries are ma jamm if you know what I mean 😛 hope you had a lovely weekend!
      Xx

  4. Aw hello lovely! LOVE the new look of your blog… very gorgeous, simple and pretty. Secondly, this galette is perfect. Gorgeous golden pastry and a beautiful fruity interior… it’ll definitely be on my to-bake list for my husband’s birthday next week (perfect timing, though I was too late for V-day!). Thanks beautiful, hope that you had a great day yesterday xxx

    • Hey Laura! 😀
      Thank-you very much lovely! Means a lot 🙂
      Hope you enjoy the galette! Get ready for a sensation for the senses with this goody 🙂
      Hope you’ve had a great weekend!
      Xx

Leave a Reply

